Fahy 3rd in ESB 5 Mile Road Race

The annual ESB five mile road race was held over the Curraheen circuit last week, and attracted an entry of over one hundred and fifty participants.  John Kearney of Cork Teachers, preparing for a tilt at another marathon, was the pre race favourite and duly obliged with a clear-cut win over last year’s winner Billy O’Rourke of UCC.  Kearney’s winning time was 26:16, some eighteen seconds ahead of O’Rourke.  Roy Fahy, out of the running scene for some while returned to take third in 26:43, with Paul O’Mahony of Hormann Elect next, ahead of Tom Fitzgerald, Michael Murphy of Novartis and Joe Moriarty.  Cork woman Niamh O’Sullivan of Tralee Leisure won the womens section in a time of 29:52, well clear of Mary Sweeney of SHB who clocked 30:43, with Noreen Linehan of Core Computers third, followed by Ann Murphy of UCC and Marion Lyons of Dovatron.  Vet wins were recorded by Michael Murphy, Maurice Tobin, Frank Cashman, Myles McHugh, John O’Leary, Anne Murphy, Marion Lyons, and Frankie Devlin.  SHB won the womens team contest, while Cork Teachers won the mens Grade A, Cork Corporation won Grade B, and Navy won Grade C.