Fahy Shows Consistancy to Win UCC Road Race

April 16th 2000: The annual UCC road race under BHAA rules was held this morning in bright sunny conditions.  This year the distance was 10k and was run over the Lee Road / Straight Road circuit.  From the gun a group of three quickly broke away from the main body of the pack, with Roy Fahy setting a strong pace.  John Daly of Nenagh and Noel Marshall of Togher provided the company.  Marshall was first to feel the pace, dropping away after three quarters of a mile, leaving the other pair to battle it out, reaching the one mile mark in 4:57.  However, Daly’s effort only lasted to the start of the hill, just before the two mile mark.  Fahy showed his strength by keeping up his effort on the hill which lasted almost a mile.  He covered the second mile in 5:15, and then ran ultra consistently, covering the next three miles in 5:15 each.  After the two mile mark he was on his own for the remainder of the race, and easily won in a time of 32:33, with Daly second in 33:37, Marshall third in 34:07, and Michael Murphy fourth in 35:02.  They were followed home by Paul O’Mahony (35:08), Ted O’Flynn (37:37), Tom Cody, Liam O’Mahony, Willie Hayes and Neil O’Connell.  The womens race was won by Mary Sweeeny in a time of 39:59 from Brid Murphy in 41:16, Catriona McGreggor in 43:21, Monica Twohig in 44:52, and Frankie Devlin in 44:58.  In the vets section Willie Hayes won the over 40 from Jerry McCarthy; Tom Cody won over 45 from Seamus Casey; Pat Dempsey won over 50 from Liam O’Leary; Eddie Mullane won over 55 from John O’connell; John O’Leary won over 60 and John Forde won over 65.  Marion Lyons won the womens over 35 from Rosaleen Kelly; Eileen Lynam won over 40 from Tina Fulginati; and Frankie Devlin won over 45 from Marion Lyons.  Jerry Forde won the wheelchair section.