Keane an Impressive Winner

Eagle athletic club staged their annual five mile road race in Carrigaline today, with dull overcast conditions the order of the day.  As ever the race was well supported.  A group of eight runners got away on their own by the one mile mark reached in a pedestrian 5:21.  It was then that John Kearney of East Cork began to increase the pace, stretching the field out in a matter of strides.  Bryan Keane of Leevale, running his first race since winning a bronze team medal at the European junior cross country championships in December, was the only one who could go with him.  Keane tracked the leader until they hit the hill with a mile and a half to go and then passed Kearney.  From there to the finish he was on his own, winning in a time of 25:24, with Kearney second in 25:40.  Josh Palmer of Carrigaline ran on strongly to take third in 25:46, with Billy O’Rourke of Leevale next in 25:47, Damian Collins of Leevale in 25:52, Eamon McEvoy of St. Finbarrs in 25:54, Noel Marshall of Togher in 25:58 and Ian O’Sullivan of UCC in 26:25.  Mary Sheehan of Grange Fermoy won the womens race in 28:41 from Carmel Parnell of Leevale in 29:03, Mary Sweeney of St. Finbarrs, Brid Murphy of Leevale and Joan Hough of St. Finbarrs.  Vet win were recorded by Willie Hayes, Eamon McEvoy, Maurice Tobin, Eddie Mullane, Ann Murphy, Eileen Lynam, Frankie Devlin, and Marie Morley.