O’Rourke Second in Castlemartyr

After winning the ESB five mile road race, Garrett Barry of North Cork started a strong favourite at the East Cork annual four mile road race in Castlemartyr today.  And he was never in danger of being beaten, accelerating away from the others in the last mile to win in a time of 20:09.  Billy O’Rourke chased strongly all the way to finish second in 20:22, just ahead of Jim McHugh of Clonmel in 20:24.  George Murray of North Cork is another on the comeback trail finishing fourth in 20:42, ahead of Matt Magner of Leevale in 20:45, John Casey of UCC in 21:00, Eamon McEvoy of St. Finbarrs in 21:07, Damien Collins of Leevale in 21:42, Denis McCarthy of East Cork in 21:45, and Paul O’Mahony of Leevale in 21:46.  Mary Sweeney of St. Finbarrs won the womens section in a time of 25:12 with Monica Twohig of Eagle second in 27:16, Rose Crockett of St. Finbarrs third in 27:29, Frankie Devlin of Midleton fourth in 27:50, and Liz O’Riordan of Ballyhoura fifth in 28:50.