Congress 2002

Leevale athletic club congratulates all those elected to the various positions after the elections at Congress in Galway over the weekend.  We offer our commiserations to those who did not succeed in their ambitions, but we are sure they will live to fight another day.

      We also offer our thanks to those who were defeated or who decided not to seek re-election. We do appreciate all the long hard hours of work put in by those people over the years.
The future is before us and athletics now needs to focus on it.  Changes in the way Athletics Ireland is structured and organised are long overdue in order to bring athletics to the attention of the public – to make athletics the leading minority sport in Ireland, and not just an also-ran, and to ensure that every athlete receives everything they need to realise their full potential.  We wish the very best of luck to the new administration and pledge our fullest support.
 President Michael Heery; Vice President Patsy McGonagle; Secretary Georgina Drumm; Treasurer Michael Quinlan; International Secretary Liam Hennessy; Competition Secretary Paddy Marley.
Regional representatives elected to the AAI Executive Committee: Ray Flynn Connacht, Michael McCormack Munster, Pat Kelly Leinster and Neil Martin, Ulster. 
Cross Country, Road and Race Walking Committee:
Sean Cooney (Meath), Mary Cronin (Limerick), Ray Flynn (Sligo), Harry Gorman (Dublin), Patricia Griffin (Leitrim), Michael Lane (Westmeath), John McGrath (Waterford), Bernie O’Callaghan (Donegal), James Sexton (Clare). 
Track and Field Committee: Pat Kelly (Laois), Peter Sinclair (Down), Paddy Joyce (Meath), Ronnie Quigley (Meath), Aine Pobjoy (Dublin), Nora McDermott (Dublin), John Smyth (Cork), Pat O’Keefe Dublin, Brian Dowling (Kildare).
Technical and Records Committee
: Sean Naughton (Tipperary), Liam Hennessey (Dublin), Pierce O’Callaghan (Meath), Ronnie Long (Limerick), Fr Barney King (Dublin) . 
Juvenile Committee: Breda Synnott (Wicklow), Jerry Burke (Limerick), Mary Burgoyne (Roscommon), Cyril Smyth (Wicklow), John McGrath (Waterford), Aine Pobjoy (Dublin), Carmel Kelly (Kildare), Tony Ennis (Meath), Cathy Daniel, (Meath). 
Individual members elected to the AAI Executive: Sean Naughton (Tipperary), Breda Synnott (Wicklow), John Allen (Antrim).