John Smyth chairs two

It’s a busy time for John Smyth.  Just before Christmas he was elected chairman of the CIT Track Advisory Committee, and followed that by being re-elected chairman of Cork County Board at last week’s AGM.  Also at the AGM Joe O’Flynn retained his position as Team Manager, and Eithne Ui Chonaill was elected to the Juvenile Committee.
All the business of the Cork AGM wasn’t concluded, so it’s back to the SMA Hall on Friday night for part two, with a number of motions to be debated, and arrangements for the national AGM are also set to be made.  Nominations for national positions must be made before the end of the month, with the national AGM fixed for Galway at the end of April.  It appears that Liam Hennessy, one of the most respected officials in the country, will contest the position of International Secretary, currently held by Chris Wall, as will Pierce O’Callaghan, better known as an international race walker, and a competent administrator in recent times.
Congratulations to Aisling Maunsell and Darren O’Donovan who have been awarded Munster Sports Awards, and to Sharon Kelly for her national award.