Leevale Women Win

Leevale’s senior women’s team recorded a magnificent team victory at the Cork senior and junior cross country championships held on Sean O’Lionairds land in Inchigeelagh on Sunday.
Valerie Vaughan of Blarney Inniscarra was the easy winner of the race ahead of Colette O’Riordan of West Muskerry, with Claire Gibbons leading the Leevale team in third.  Louise Cavanagh of UCC was fourth ahead of European over 45 5,000m champion Carmel Parnell of Leevale.  Catherine Keohane of Leevale was 11th with Ann O’Leary completing the Leevale scoring in 17th place to give the club a superb win.
Thomas Maunsell put some recent poor performances behind him with a good second in the junior race won by Jamie McCarthy of Riverstick Kinsale.  Richard Byrne, running as a guest, was third ahead of Fergus Meade of Glenbower.  Keith Linehan was 7th, John Shine 9th, Aaron Hornibrook 10th and Alan sexton 11th to give Leevale second team medals.
Roy Fahy made a return to the Leevale colours in the senior race to finish 7th, one place ahead of Ian donovan, with darren Keenan 15th, Damien Collins 19th and Jason Nicholl 23rd.  Leevale finished second behind Togher.
The race was won by robert Heffernan, with Donncha O’Mahony second, Garrett Barry third, Cathal O’connell fourth, Brian McMahon fifth and Josh Palmer sixth.
Joyce Curtin won the junior women’s race ahead of Aoife Cooke, Louise Finn and Claire Kelly