Munster Juvenile Championships Day 3 & 4 Results

Day 3 & 4 of the 2010 Munster Juvenile Champions were held at the CIT over the weekend in glorious sunshine. The competition this weekend catered for the U12-U13 & U16-U19 athletes and Leevale were once again well represented in most of these age groups.

Chelsie Wright had a good weekend when she finished a close second in both the GU13 sprint and long jump competitions. In the boys U13 sprint, Seán O’Callaghan ran a very strong race, crossing the line with Garrett O’Hanlon from Abbey Striders. It took the camera to separate them by just 0.01 of a second, giving silver medal to Seán on this occasion.

Matthew Murnane continues to improve as a middle distance athlete as he stamped his authority on the BU13 600m by running a clever tactical race resulting in an impressive win in 1:41.38.

Robert Nagle collected a number of medals in the BU16 by finishing second in the HJ, and third in the Long and Triple Jumps. He also qualified for the All-Irelands in the Javelin when he finished in fourth place. With this level of all round ability Robert has the makings of a very strong multi-event athlete.

James Heffernan, competing in his first Munster championships, finished second in the BU17 Discus and Hammer events. The increase in medals for throwing events is testament to the coaching of Brian Hayes and we look forward to increased participation in these events.

Ryan Casey also walked away with two silver medals by finishing second in the BU17 long and triple jumps.

The U19 boys were swapping events for fun with David Killeen winning the 400m in an excellent time of 50.95. David also took gold in the 100m event from club mate Edmond O’Halloran who finished second. Earlier Edmond had a clear win in the 110 Hurdles. Patrick Maher lined up in the 200m and comfortably won the race in an impressive time of 22.64.


Event Name Pos Perf
GU13 80m Chelsie Wright 2 11.17
GU13 4x100m Leevale 2 56.21
GU13 LJ Chelsie Wright 2 4.35m
GU13 60mH Jack Murphy 3 10.43
BU13 80m Sean O’Callaghan 2 10.87
BU13 600m Matthew Murnane 1 1:41.38
BU16 200m Robert O’Halloran 3 24.03
BU16 HJ Robert Nagle 2 1.60m
BU16 Jav Robert Nagle 4 30.34m
BU16 LJ Robert Nagle 3 5.65m
BU16 TJ Robert Nagle 3 11.19m
GU17 LJ Caroline Murnane 3 4.74m
BU17 100m Denis O’Sullivan 4 12.24
BU17 300mH Luke Hickey 4 45.55
BU17 400m Luke Hickey 4 57.59
BU17 4x100m Leevale 3 48.00
BU17 Discus James Heffernan 2 22.30m
BU17 Hammer James Heffernan 2 19.68m
BU17 LJ Ryan Casey 2 5.54m
BU17 TJ Ryan Casey 2 11.49m
BU18 4x100m Leevale 3 46.71
BU19 100m David Killeen 1 11.28
BU19 100m Edmond O’Halloran 2 11.33
BU19 200m Patrick Maher 1 22.64
BU19 200m Hugh Hayden 4 26.03
BU19 400m David Killeen 1 50.95
BU19 Javelin Hugh Hayden 4 24.05m
BU19 LJ Hugh Hayden 2 5.16m

All athletes who finished in top four places are automatically qualified for the All-Ireland Championships. The following are the additional open entries that have been submitted:

Events Name
BU17 1500m & 3K Philip Crowley
BU17 100m & 200m Dennis O’Sullivan
BU17 Walk Luke Hickey
BU19 200m David Killeen
BU19 200m Edmond O’Halloran
BU19 400m Patrick Maher
BU19 400m Paul Scanlan

Full results