Strong 2nd for Leevale men at Cork City Marathon

The Cork City Marathon took place this morning in wet, windy weather that was every bit as challenging as the hot, sunny conditions of previous years.

The men’s race was won by Moldovan athlete and reigning Irish Marathon Champion, Sergiu Ciobanu, competing for Clonliffe Harriers. The women’s event was won for the third year on the trot by Lucy Brennan of Sligo.

Leevale’s first finisher in the full marathon event was John Hallahan, who went a minute faster than his effort of the previous year, in 3:36. Another Leevale finisher who was inside the 4-hour mark was Thomas O’Regan who clocked 3:45. David Healy was another Leevale athlete who completed the course, just outside the 4 and a half-hour mark in 4:38.

In the team relay event, the Leevale Men ‘A’ team ran very strongly throughout to take second place in 2:25 behind “The Metric Milers”, a team that had a pick of athletes from throughout Munster. New Irish Schools’ Senior 5K Champion, Ryan Creech, ran particularly well in the last leg to pull in a big East Cork lead and win silver for Leevale. The other members of the team were Chris Harrington, Cillian Ó Tuama, Donal Coffey, and Barry Donovan. The Leevale ‘B’ team also ran well to finish 10th overall in 2:44. The team memebers were George Boyle, Graham O’Riordan, Stephen Walter, Denis Metcalfe, and Dave McEvoy.

Leevale also had a women’s team who ran very well to finish in 2:53, the first all-female team home. Their performance was all the more impressive given there were only three team members! Carmel Parnell took out the first 5 miles, with Nollaig Hunter and Lizzie Lee running the long 11 and 10-mile legs respectively.

Cork City Marathon, Monday 7 June 2010, 9:00am
Provisional Results


Pos Name Club Time
1 Sergiu Ciobanu Clonliffe Harriers 2:25.54
2 Paul McNamara Athenry AC 2:30.15
3 Colin Merritt Carraig na bhFear AC 2:33.37
4 Diarmuid Ó Séaghdha Donore Harriers 2:33.59
5 Cathal O’Connell St. Finbarr’s AC 2:34.23
6 Wieslaw Sosnowski Eagle AC 2:36.43


Pos Name Club Time
1 Lucy Brennan Sligo AC 2:54.41
2 Angela McCann Clonmel AC 2:59.18
3 Mary O’Leary FC PERLACH 3:01.20


Pos Team Time
1 Metric Milers 2:21.21
2 Leevale AC A 2:24.58
3 East Cork AC 2:25.13
4 Togher AC\Maher’s Sports 2:29.03
5 Brian Byrne Energy A 2:33.01
6 Riverside Clinic 2:39.51
7 CIT A 2:40.43
8 Leevale AC B 2:44.38
13 Leevale AC Women 2:53.40

Final results will be available on Cork City Marathon website