100th win for John O’Leary at Churchtown South

The Churchtown South 5 mile road race took place this evening, the third instalment in this year’s Ballycotton Summer Series. There was a small Leevale contingent present. In the women’s race Niamh Walsh finished fourth, while Ann Moore also had a good run, winning the F45 category. However, the night was most notable for the achievement by Leevale’s John O’Leary, who had his 100th category win in a Ballycotton road race.

John Walshe of Ballycotton Running Promotions gave a great speech at the prizegiving ceremony, charting the progress of John O’Leary’s Ballycotton career, from his first category win in 1978 – the first year the Ballycotton series took place – right through to his most recent win in the M70 category at Churchtown. Afterwards, a number of presentations were made to John, including a special plaque bearing the logos of Ballycotton Running Promotions and Leevale AC. John now claims he has his sights set on win number 200!

Full results
Leevale results

Results courtesy of John Walshe
Churchtown South 5 Mile Road Race, Thu 28 July 2011, 8:00pm

1 Alan O’Shea Bantry AC 25:08
2 Cillian O’Leary Raheny Shamrock AC 26:02
3 Roy Fahy East Cork AC 26:17
4 Cathal O’Connell St. Finbarr’s AC 27:12
5 John Meade St. Finbarr’s AC 27:29
14 Colm Moore Leevale AC 28:38
23 Dave Comber Leevale AC 29:21
25 Robbie Williams Leevale AC 29:29
4F Niamh Walsh Leevale AC 32:01
1 M70 John O’Leary Leevale AC 38:20