Huge Leevale turnout at Shanagarry

There was a massive Leevale turnout of 23 athletes at tonight’s Shanagarry 5 mile road race, the second race in the Ballycotton Summer Series. It was great to see so many Leevale singlets at the start line. It was a successful night for the club overall with John Shine, continuing his recent good form, taking victory in 26:22 from East Cork’s Roy Fahy. Chris Harrington, who is getting back after competing in the Cork City Marathon, finished third. Leevale had four in the top 10, which was enough to take victory in the team competition. For good measure, Leevale’s next four took 3rd in the team standings. Leevale’s Niamh Walsh finished fourth in the women’s event, which was won by Claire McCarthy of St. Finbarr’s. The Leevale ladies finished 2nd in their team event.

In the category competitions, John O’Leary, who has run every Ballycotton 5 mile race since 1978, took victory in the M70, while Ann Moore won the F45 section.

Full results
Leevale results

Results courtesy of John Walshe

Shanagarry 5 Miles, Thu 23 June 2011, 8:00pm

1 John Shine Leevale AC 26:22
2 Roy Fahy East Cork AC 26:29
3 Chris Harrington Leevale AC 27:02
4 Cathal O’Donovan St. Finbarr’s AC 27:14
5 Cathal O’Connell St. Finbarr’s AC 27:17
6 John Meade St. Finbarr’s AC 27:26
7 Danny Smith Ballynonty AC 27:29
8 Cillian Ó Tuama Leevale AC 27:47
9 Alan Whittaker 27:53
10 Donal Coffey Leevale AC 27:58
11 Tim Twomey Leevale AC 28:15
12 John Hennessy Midleton AC 28:31