Ballycotton 5 Mile Results

The final race in the Ballycotton Summer Series, the Ballycotton 5, took place last night. Going into the race, Tim Twomey held a 12-second lead over Seán McGrath in the overall series. Last night Tim ran a gallant race to finish 3rd in 26:32, but was unable to hold off the East Cork man who took series victory by winning the race in 25:43. It was still a great series of race for Tim, who has been ultra-consistent this summer. Donal Coffey finished 4th in the series, and John O’Connell 6th.

Lizzie Lee was back in road action last night and she won by a huge margin, her winning time of 28:36 the fastest since Carmel Crowley’s course record in 2001. Nollaig Hunter finished 2nd on the night and Carmel Parnell 3rd. Leevale athletes filled the top three places in the overall series as well, Ann Moore taking victory ahead of Nollaig and Niamh Walsh.

Full results
Leevale results
Results courtesy of John Walshe

Photos from Gearóid Ó Laoi.