Awards Galore For Leevale Athletes

January is athletics award season with the AAI Awards, Cork Athletics Annual International Awards & Munster Star Awards taking place over the coming weeks. 2013 was a great year for Leevale; having already secured the Athletics Ireland Club of the year, the awards keep on coming.

Munster Star Awards

The Munster Star Awards Banquet 2013 was held in the Tower Hotel, Waterford on Saturday 25th January. Leevale’s many successes over season were duly acknowledged.

  • Indoor T&F Cork:                            Jayne Pennefather
  • Indoor T&F Cork:                            Jack Murphy
  • Indoor T&F Junior Women:         Jessica Sheehan
  • Indoor T&F U23 Women:              Christina Neville
  • Indoor Club Juvenile:                     Leevale AC
  • Indoor Club Junior/Senior            Leevale AC
  • Track & Field Juvenile:                   Leevale AC
  • Track & Field Junior/Senior:         Leevale AC
  • Juvenile Cross Country Cork:        Louise Shanahan

AAI Award

The juvenile committee of Athletics Association of Ireland have awarded Sam Healy the Bill Battersby Perpetual Award for outstanding performance in long jump during 2013. Sam improved his PB from 6.83m to 7.06m during the 2013 season under the guidance of his coach Steve Fleming.

Cork Athletics Annual International Awards

Leevale Junior, Senior or Master Athletes who represented Ireland during 2013 were honoured at the Cork Athletics Annual International Awards night on Friday 17th January in the River Lee Hotel.

Leevale Members at the Cork County Athletics International Awards Night

Leevale Members at the Cork Athletics Annual International Awards

Leevale Award Winners:

  • Sam Healy
  • Luke Hickey
  • Louise Shanahan
  • Orla Barry
  • Dennis Finnegan
  • David Quilligan
  • Michelle Finn
  • Annette Quaid
  • Helen Leonard
  • Anne Moore
  • Carmel Parnell
  • Martin McCarthy
  • Colm Moore
  • Colm Murphy
  • John Collins
  • Paddy Moore
  • Lizzie Lee
  • Derval O’Rourke
  • Ciarán Ó Lionáird