Best Wishes To Michelle & Alex In Doha

Of the eight Irish athletes who will compete at the IAAF World Athletics Championships in Doha, two of them are from Leevale, Michelle Finn and Alex Wright.   The championships in Qatar starts on Friday September 27th until Sunday October 6th.

The first day of action sees Michelle Finn (Leevale) in action in heat two, of three heats,  of the women’s 3,000m steeplechase at 17:11 Irish time and Thomas Barr (Ferrbybank) at 18:35 in heat one, of five heats, in lane 7 of the men’s 400m hurdles.

In the women’s steeplechase, the first three qualify from each heat qualify automatically with the next six fastest runners advancing to the final. In the men’s 400m hurdles the first four in each heat qualify automatically for the semi-finals and the next four fastest.

The full Irish timetable is below with Mark English (UCD), Brendan Boyce (Finn Valley), Stephen Scullion (Clonliffe Harriers), Alex Wright (Leevale), Phil Healy (Bandon) and Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn) also in action through out the 10 day championships. 

How to follow the championships 

Timetable and results

YouTube channel live stream 

Event-by-event previews 

Athlete features 

Social media:

Twitter: @iaaforg 

Facebook: IAAF World Athletics Club 

Instagram: @iaaf_athletics 

Irish timetable (at Irish times)

Day 1 Friday September 27

Michelle Finn (Leevale) 3,000m steeplechase heat 2 – 17:11

Thomas Barr (Ferrybank) 400m hurdles heat 1 – 18:35

Day 2 Saturday September 28

Mark English (UCD) 800m heats – 15:15

Thomas Barr 400m hurdles semi-finals – 16:05

Brendan Boyce (Finn Valley) 50km race walk – 21:30

Day 3 Sunday September 29

Mark English (UCD) 800m semi-finals – 19:55

Day 4  Monday September 30

Phil Healy (Bandon) 200m heats – 15:05

Michelle Finn 3,000m steeplechase final – 19:50

Thomas Barr 400m hurdles final – 20:40

Day 5 October 1

Phil Heay 200m semi-finals – 19:35

Mark English 800m final – 20:10

Day 6 October 2

Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn) 1500m heats – 15:35

Phil Healy 200m final 20:35

Day 7 October 3

Ciara Mageean 1500m semi-finals – 21:00

Day 8 October 4

Alex Wright (Leevale) 20km race walk 21:30

Day 9 October 5

Ciara Mageean 1500m final – 18:55

Stephen Scullion (Clonliffe Harriers) marathon – 21:59

Irish team on social media


Phil Healy (Bandon) 200m @phil_healy (Instagram) @philhealy2 (Twitter)

Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn) 1500m @c.mageean (Instagram) @ciaramageean (Twitter)

Michelle Finn (Leevale) 3,000m steeplechase @m_finners (Instagram) @M_Finners (Twitter)


Alex Wright (Leevale) 20km race walk @alexwright36 (Instagram)

Brendan Boyce (Finn Valley) 50km race walk @brendanbound (Instagram) @brendanboyce (Twitter)

Stephen Scullion (Clonliffe Harriers) marathon @lionscull (Instagram) @Scullionxc (Twitter)

Thomas Barr (Ferrybank) 400m hurdles @TomBarr247 (Instagram and Twitter)

Mark English (UCD) 800m @markenglish_ (Instagram and Twitter)