Leevale Senior T&F Meet

There was super competition today at MTU Arena for Leevale 22 senior track and field meet. 

Conor Morey was presented the Bernard Walley memorial trophy for his victory in the 100m in a seasons best time of 10.56, from Luke Morris (Emerald AC) and Scott Gibson. 

Sean Carmody ran a superb 400m 2’9″ hurdles to take victory and cross the line in 54.67, achieving the qualifying standard for the European U18 championships. Sean was awarded athlete of the meet for this superb performance.  In the men’s 3000m Jonas Stafford of Ashford AC took victory in 8:27.50 also earning him the qualifying standard for the European U20’s  and the winner of the Liam Horgan perpetual cup. 

John Dwyer, Templemore AC, competed in four of the throwing events, winning the Hammer with 52.45m, the Shot Putt with 13.04m, second in the Javelin with 36.24m and third in the Discus with 38.46m. These performances earned John the thrower of the meet for which he was awarded the Brendan Coughlan perpetual trophy for best overall thrower of the meet. 

Sinead O’Connor put down a marker for the Nationals with a fine performance in the 3000m winning in a time of 9:28.67. 

We are also delighted to be supported by our Para-athlete friends who competed across a range of events on track and field. 

National Senior Masters records were set by John Corr in the 100m & 200m events and by Carlton Haddock in the 400m. 

Full Results Here