Leevale AC – Club Of The Year 2014

The 2014 Athletics Ireland Award Ceremony was held today at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, with over 300 people attending this was a prestigious affair.

Leevale AC was awarded Club of the Year for the second year running. Tony Shine (Head Coach) and Finbarr O’Brien (President) accepted the award on behalf of the club. This is a great honour for the club and is testament to the dedication of all the athletes, coaches & officials.

The citation read “Leevale is one of the powerhouses of Irish Athletics and the Cork Club enjoyed an exceptional run of success in 2014. The year began with victory for the Leevale men’s and women’s teams at the inaugural Indoor League held in Athlone. Leevale had the most podium finishes at the national senior championships.  They continued their success with the men’s team claiming the outdoor league final and the women’s team finish forth. Their women’s team won the national road relay title and the men won the national 10k team title.”

RedFM’s Lisa Lawlor reviews the Athletics Ireland Club of the Year Award with Leevale AC’s President, Finbarr O’Brien and Chairman Donal Murnane, on the Big Red Bench, Saturday 29th November. Click the play button below to listen to the full interview.

1 Comment

  • Truly marvelous to listen to Finbarr O Brien and Donal Murnane speak about past and present day success of this wonderful club. Congratulations on the award.